Note to Self: Posts to Make

Simplicity & The Great Purge (about when I got rid of 75% of my personal possessions)

Playing War (about being a pacifist while reenacting)

Plainness vs. Conservatism (about how my emphasis on simplicity and function over fashion has gotten me mislabeled as a conservative from time to time)

4 Responses to “Note to Self: Posts to Make”


  1. 1 Suzy August 13, 2008 at 3:24 am

    Hi, Kelsey! Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting. You may most certainly add me to your blog roll, as I will add you. I found your previous post about being a reenactor very interesting. It simply isn’t something that I’ve thought much about, until I read that Civil War book. (Jane Hamilton has a novel in which Civil War reenactment plays an important part too, but it was such a disturbing novel…) My kids love going to the nearby Renaissance Fair and have started collecting bits and pieces of costumes. It seems cool and fun, but in the case of the Ren Fair, I’d have a hard time swallowing the hierarchy. I’d probably join Robin Hood’s band!

    Anyway, I’ll look forward to reading more of your writing.
    Cheers.

  2. 2 Driftingfocus August 13, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Yeah, Ren Faires are a bit different, as anyone can participate and there are not really guidelines. Most reenacting groups have strict authenticity standards, right down to the threadcount-per-inch of the fabric, haircuts, etc. Sometimes it can be irritating, but in the end, it’s rewarding, as it makes it easier to have a “reenactor moment”, where suddenly you forget about being your modern self, and are sort of “transported” back in time. It’s about as close to time travel as you can get, which is why some people have started calling it “experiential history”. There’s a whole subset actually, called “experimental archaeology”, where reenactors will go out and attempt to do something exactly as described in research, to see what happens, or to figure out how something was done. It’s a pretty neat aspect, actually.

  3. 3 KaT Adams August 14, 2008 at 4:17 am

    “Experimental Archeology”… Fun idea! I suddenly want to replicate Helm’s Deep…

  4. 4 Driftingfocus August 14, 2008 at 9:02 am

    It’s pretty nifty. My boyfriend’s French and Indian War unit did trekking and lived out in the woods for a week, using only tools/techniques that have been researched, to help test the research. It was pretty cool.


Leave a Reply

