What is this?

I intend to use this space to talk about my feelings on religion, spirituality, etc.  I was raised in a non-religious, non-spiritual home, but have always considered myself a rather spiritual person.  I started attending a Unitarian Universalist church in college, but switched to attending a Quaker Meeting (on a very, very irregular basis) by the end of my studies.  Though I have not attended a meeting on a regular basis, due to my moving around so much, it has very much resonated with me.  I am overseas right now, and upon my return to the US, I intend to further explore this aspect of my life more directly, but for now, I’d just like to use this space as somewhat of a “brain dump” on the subject of me and spirituality, etc.

Oh, and the title of the blog is from a joke that a friend of mine made once, that the bumpersticker for Quakers should be:  “Quakerism:  Shut Up and Listen”.   Given my propensity to talk my head off, I often have to tell myself this, and so I found it funny and appropriate.

2 Responses to “What is this?”


  1. 1 methodistchick August 7, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Hi, I just finished a little research on Quaker Meetings and was searching for Quaker-related topics here. I think it is wonderful that you are pursuing a life that includes active Christianity. No matter where you end up attending, I believe the Holy Spirit will be in you if you open yourself to God. But, remember, you need to join others in worship. It’s okay to say you are “spiritual” but taking action and worshiping with others is an entirely wonderful separate religious experience that is much better than mere spirituality.

  2. 2 Driftingfocus August 7, 2008 at 11:29 am

    See, I’m not sure if I agree with you there. For one, while most do, not all Quakers identify as Christian. I don’t, necessarily. I do believe that there’s something more, in a “higher power”, if you will, but I would hesitate to say that I believe in God in the Christian sense.

    Similarly, I would say that you don’t need to join others to worship. In fact, one of the things which has always appealed most to me about Quakerism is the fact that it is an ideal philosophy for solitary reflection. In Meeting, you don’t talk to eachother. You may speak if you feel inclined, but you are not speaking to anyone in particular, and direct response is discouraged. Personal reflection and “expectant waiting” is the key element of Meeting, and is something which I have always felt was quite solitary in nature.

    I also feel inclined to ask – what is wrong with “mere” spirituality?


Leave a Reply

